Huber, Hans: Symphony No. 2, "Böcklin Symphony" and other works

        Hans Huber

MusicWeb Int.
CDS1022EAN: 7393338102229                     Performer:
        Stuttgarter Philharmoniker
        Jörg-Peter Weigle

        Back cover

CDS 1022-2 Hans Huber (1852-1921): Symphonische Einleitung zur Oper "Der Simplicius" (1898); Eine Lustspiel-Ouvertüre (1879); Symphony No. 2, "Böcklin Symphony" (1900). Stuttgarter Philharmoniker conducted by Jörg-Peter Weigle.

An absolute revelation. A truly great discovery of a very individual romantic composer, well established during his lifetime and then, quite shamefully, forgotten. Huber was the leading romantic composer in Switzerland at the end of the nineteenth Century. Partly individual, partly in Brahmsian style, his works show all great mastery of orchestral writing.
"So airy is some of the orchestration that we are almost into Berlioz at his most impressionistic as in Symphonie Fantastique. Set off against this a Brahmsian gravitas. The performance is excellent - infused with flammable temperament and an impressive unanimity of attack. A welcome change from Dvorák 5 and 6. Do try it!" - MusicWeb

    Hans Huber (1852-1921)
  • Symphonische Einleitung zur Oper,,Der Simplicius" (1898)
  • Eine Lustspiel-Ouverture op. 50 (1879)
  • Symphonie Nr.2 e-moll op.115,,Böcklin-Symphonie"(1900)
    - Allegro con fuoco

    - Allegro con fuoco non troppo

    - Adagio ma non troppo
    - Finale: Metarnorphosen, Grave

    - Thema: Allegretto
    - No. 1. - Meeresstille. Adagio motto
    - No. 2. - Prometheus. Allegro motto
    - No. 3. - Flötende Nymphe. Allegro giocoso
    - No. 4. - Die Nacht. Adagio, ma non troppo
    - No. 5. - Spiel der Wellen. Quasi presto
    - Der Einsiedler, vor einem Marienbilde, geigend: Molto moderato
    - No. 6. - Die Gefilde der Seligen. Allegretto tranquillo
    - No. 7. - Liebesfrijhling. Andante motto espressivo e appassionato
    - No. 8. - Bacchanale. Tempo di valse ma quasi presto - Presto e stringendo - Maestoso, ma non troppo

toccata Köp den av Toccata Music Shop

© 2007 Sterling, Stockholm, Sweden