Raff, Joachim: Works for Choir, Piano & Orchestra

        Joachim Raff

MusicWeb Int.
RaffEAN: 7393338108924                     Performer:
        Tra Nguyen
        Norrlandoperan SO
        Andrea Quinn

        Back cover

CDS 1089-2 Joachim Raff (1822-1882): Die Tageszeiten, Konzertante in vier satzen Op.209; Morgenlied Op.187a; Einer Entschlafenen Op.186; Die Sterne WoO 53
Tra Nguyen, piano and The Symphony Orchestra of Norrlands Opera conducted by Andrea Quinn

Conventional wisdom has it that Joachim Raff composed eleven symphonies, even though neither their numbers not their sequence accounts with the fact that he actually wrote twelve or possibly thirteen of them. Our recognition and numbering of his symphonies will need to be re-evaluated when an additional work is taken into account, the four-movement choral symphony Die Tagenzeiten where he blithely referred to as a concertante.

    Joachim Raff (1822-1882)

  • Die Tageszeiten Op.209
    - A capriccio - Largo - Allegro

    - Andante
    - Allegro
    - Allegro

  • Morgenlied Op.186a
  • Einer Entschlafenen Op.186b

  • Die Sterne WoO 53
    - Vom Firmament blinkt Sternglanz
    - Es schaut der Lotse auf der See
    - Heil und freundlich lacht der Gestirne Pracht
    - Ein Stern der Höhen fällt

    - Wenn das Aug' in nächt' ger Stille

    toccata Köp den av Toccata Music Shop

© 2009 Sterling, Stockholm, Sweden