Siegenthaler, Stephan: Classical Quartets for clarinet and string trio

        Bernhard Henrik Crusell
        Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
        Johann Nepomuk Hummel
Classical QuartetsEAN: 7393338169420                     Performer:
        Stephan Siegenthaler
        Lucerne String Trio

        Back cover

CDA 1694-2 Classical Quartets for clarinet and string trio

The string quartet as we know it today consists of two violins, one viola and one violincello and it was conceived by Haydn and Boccherini practically simultaneously around 1750. The somewhat firmly established relationship between the lead and virtuoso violin and the thematically second violin was challenged when replacing the one of it with a different instrument. Thanks to its comparable possibilities in the high register, the flute was at first the favorite replacement. The clarinet, with its lower register was not an obvious choice, even as these three quartets is proof of its quality as lead instrument.
  • Bernhard Henrik Crusell (1775-1838)
    Quartet in D major Op.7
    - Allegro non tanto

    - Un poco Largo
    - Menuetto, Allegro
    - Finale, Allegro

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
    Quartet in F major K.370
    - Allegro
    - Adagio

    - Rondeau, Allegro

  • Johann Nepomuk Hummel (1778-1837)
    Quartet in E flat major
    - Allegro moderato
    - La Seccatura, Allegro molto

    - Andante
    - Rondo, Allegretto

toccata Köp den av Toccata Music Shop

© 2013 Sterling, Stockholm, Sweden