Flotow, Friedrich von: Piano Concertos 1 & 2; Wilhelm von Oranien in Whitehall, incidental music; Jubel overture

        Friedrich von Flotow
flotow_1077EAN: 7393338107729                     Performer:
        Carl Petersson
        Pilsen Ph. O
        Hans Peter Wiesheu

        Back cover

CDS 1077-2 Friedrich von Flotow (1812-1883): Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2; Wilhelm von Oranien in Whitehall, incidental music; Jubel Overture. Carl Petersson, piano; Pilsen Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Hans Peter Wiesheu

An entirely new perspective on Friedrich von Flotow's compositions. This composer is best known on account of his opera Martha. Here we find newly discovered concertos, which must be considered as sensational. The first is brilliant and melodic, the second is probably influenced by Carl Maria von Weber's concertos. The Oranien suite is most charming, with Thomas Arne's Rule Britannia as one of the movements.

    Friedrich von Flotow (1812-1883)

  • Piano concerto No.1 C minor
    - Allegro risoluto

    - Adagio
    - Rondeau Allegretto grazioso con fuoco

  • Piano Concerto No.2 A minor
    - Andantino
    - Scherzo

    - Adagio
    - Rondo

  • Jubel Overture

  • Wilhelm von Oranien in Whitehall
    - Introduction Moderato
    - Act II Andante
    - Act III Maestoso 'Rule Britannia'

    - Act IV Andante
    - Act V Moderato Andante Allegro

    toccata Köp den av Toccata Music Shop

© 2007 Sterling, Stockholm, Sweden